Barbs’ Chocolate Chip Cookies

Posted by Ali.

My mom bakes.  She bakes really, REALLY well.  …so well, that when we go to Texas to visit , I ask her not to bake anything. If she does, it is very likely that I will eat cookies non-stop (because I don’t have ANY self-control when it comes to her cookies).
Yesterday, I had a meeting and decided to make my mother’s chocolate chip cookies. They turned out lovely – even at altitude.   And yes, I still don’t have any self-control…

Ingredients:
1c. butter
3/4c. sugar
1 1/4c. brown sugar (firmly packed)
2 eggs
2t. vanilla
2 1/2c. flour
3/4t. salt
1t. baking powder
1t. baking soda
2-3c. semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
(I used my handy KitchenAid mixer for all of the mixing.)
In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar until light. Beat in the eggs and vanilla. Sift together the flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. ( I don’t really do any sifting.) Stir dry mixture into the butter/sugar/etc. mixture. Mix well. Stir in chocolate chips. Drop teaspoon sized dough on the ungreased cookie sheet. (I use parchment paper.) Bake in the preheated oven for 8-10 minutes, or until the edges are light brown. Do not overbake.

Enjoy!
***Warning: the dough is REALLY tasty. If you have a sweet addiction like I do, and you want to have enough cookies for your husband/friends/family to try, chew on a piece of gum while baking. It works…sometimes. 😉

Barbs’ Chocolate Chip Cookies

One thought on “Barbs’ Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

