Autumn Pumpkin Bread.

I love autumn.  I love pumpkin bread.  In my childhood, the two were one in the same…which explains my adulthood affinity for both.  So, every year, with the first inklings of an Indian Summer, the simple thought of pumpkin bread warms my heart and makes me flatout giddy.  I swear the bourbon in-hand has nothing to do with it.

Enjoy this one dear friends!  It’s a good one.

INGREDIENTS:

3 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
1 can pumpkin puree
3 and 1/2 cups self-rising flour (or, for every cup of flour, add 1  1/4 tsp. baking powder and 1/4 tsp. salt)
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg, freshly grated (it seriously makes all the difference!)
1/2 tsp. allspice
1 cup toasted pecans

PREHEAT oven to 300°F

Combine wet ingredients first in large bowl (that’s everything up to the flour); combine dry ingredients and add to wet ingredients in parts until all is combined.  Pour into 4 greased 13 oz. coffee cans (a shout out to the old school days…plus the shape of the loaves is super fun!) or 2 loaf pans.

BAKE at 300° for 1 hr. 10 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted comes out clean.

CHEERS to Autumn.

Autumn Pumpkin Bread.

3 thoughts on “Autumn Pumpkin Bread.

  1. Amy says:

    I still love this bread. I made it as muffins today and added 1.5 cups of chocolate chips. I baked 30 muffins for 30 min. Also, I’ve started doubling all the spices. I like a really flavorful fall taste.

Leave a Reply

