Not my mama’s French Toast.

Growing up, my mom made French toast and I thought for the longest time I just didn’t like French toast…until I had Austin’s Chez Zee’s stuffed French toast.  So I tried my hand last weekend at my own and it was a success.  Super simple, easy to put together on a weekend morning.  The only thing missing was a Mimosa.

Better Homes and Gardens recipe

Serves 4

4 eggs, beaten

1 cup milk

2 TBSP sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

2 tsp. orange liqueur (I used orange juice)

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg 

8  1/2-inch slices bread (I used my cinnamon oatmeal bread, but you could use challah, brioche, croissants, etc.)

2 TBSP butter (also, a non-stick skillet and cooking spray can cut on this if you are concerned)

Real maple syrup or honey

1. In a shallow mixing bowl (think baking dish or pie plate), beat together eggs, milk, sugar, vanilla, orange liqueur/juice, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Dip bread slices in egg mixture and let soak until bread appears saturated (you want all the flavors to permeate the bread).

2. In a skillet or on a griddle, melt 1 TBSP butter over medium heat; add as many bread slices as will fit and cook 2-3 minutes on each side until golden brown.  Repeat with remaining butter and bread slices.  Serve warm with syrup.  I garnished my french toast with toasted Seguin pecans (pops sent us 5 lbs.) and sliced bananas.  It rocked.

Salud!

Not my mama’s French Toast.

One thought on “Not my mama’s French Toast.

Leave a Reply

