Grilled Shrimp Tostada Bites

These are my favorite appetizer from the beloved Z Tejas Grill in Austin, Texas.  I’ve made them twice in the last month, and they were total hits both times, but I neglected to take pictures.  Z Tejas is vague in their directions, so I’ll clarify what I did.

Grilled Shrimp Tostada Bites

The guac recipe rocks.  Use it.

Cilantro pesto = cilantro, salt, pepper, parm cheese, garlic and olive oil in the food processor.   I didn’t use pine nuts, but I’m sure they’re great too.

Chipotle Puree = 1 can of chipotle peppers in adobo in the food processor + a bit of olive oil.  Watch out.  This stuff is hot.  Use only a titch for the wimpy mouthed.

The shrimp were best when I marinated them overnight.  I pan fried them since i’m grill-less, but broiling would work well too.

Enjoy!

Grilled Shrimp Tostada Bites

7 thoughts on “Grilled Shrimp Tostada Bites

    1. corrieruth says:

      They were AWESOME! The adobo sauce really made the dish…instead of tapas style, we had them as shrimp tacos with corn tortillas. James proclaimed “It REALLY does taste like Z-Tejas!” Great post, Aims.

  1. Anna says:

    Where is the actual recipe for guac and ingredient quantities? I would love to make this tomorrow for a dinner party 🙂 thanks in advance!

Leave a Reply

