you're reading...
Breads, Easy, Too Great To Be Defined

SWEET CORN+BREAD

I have always loved the taste of cornbread, but usually end up feeling like I’m being choked to death after several bites…I know your thinking “And that’s why I don’t like cornbread.”  Trust me, this recipe will change your mind.

After discovering Whole Foods’  cornbread, I was determined to make my own.  The recipe was found here, but I’ve posted it as well since I modified it a bit.  It is a moist, soft, cake-like bread that is great with jam and honey or alongside spicy chili. I halved the recipe with no problem.

SWEET CORN+BREAD (Serves 12-16)

1 cup cornmeal
3 cups all-purpose flour
1  1/3 cup sugar
2 TBSP. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
2/3 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup melted butter
2 TBSP honey
4 eggs, beaten
2  1/2 cups milk
1 cup frozen corn kernels (not optional in my opinion…)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×13 inch baking dish (I use a large cast iron skillet when halving the recipe).

In a large mixing bowl, stir the cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Pour in the vegetable oil, melted butter, honey, beaten eggs, milk and frozen corn kernels; stir just until moistened.

Pour the batter into the greased baking dish and bake in 350 degree oven for 45 minutes until cornbread is golden brown and beginning to crack.

My mouth is now watering…enjoy mis amigas!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

